Jennifer Phillips, Cassie Phillips, Phillip Smith, and Krystina Long are
recognized for their community service and scholastic achievements

Coal Creek Watershed Foundation awards four scholarships for college,
totaling $32,000, to help educate a new generation of community leaders

Success is not measured by the degrees we earn, but by our character.  What defines us is our ability to accomplish our goals and motivate others.”  That observation by Coal Creek Scholar, Jennifer Phillips, describes our 2009 scholarship winners. 

According to Barry Thacker, P.E., a professional engineer and president of the Coal Creek Watershed Foundation (CCWF), “Jennifer Phillips, Cassie Phillips, Phillip Smith, and Krystina Long are outstanding ambassadors of our organization.  The Coal Creek Watershed Foundation is proud to award scholarships to assist in their career endeavors.”  

Awards ceremony at Anderson County
High School (L to R) Cassie Phillips, Jennie Phillips, Phillip Smith, Krystina Long, & Barry Thacker

Jennifer Phillips

Cassie Phillips

Phillip Smith

Krystina Long
Jennifer Phillips is receiving the $10,000 Nantglo Scholarship, named in honor of the Welsh miners who settled Coal Creek after the Civil War.  Nantglo is Welsh for Coal Creek and our 2009 scholarship winner plans to attend Roane State Community College and then Tennessee Tech University.  Jennifer has volunteered on most of our watershed restoration and clean-up events over the past four years and participated in three research projects to document the rich coal mining history of Coal Creek.   

In an essay on improving the quality of life in the watershed, Jennifer says, “I plan on becoming an elementary school teacher.  I have a lot to offer any school system, but who knows.  Maybe I’ll end up back where I started”.

Jennie also received the ACES scholarship and the TN Lottery Scholarship at the Anderson County High School awards ceremony.  She is a graduate of Distinction.

Twins Jennifer and Cassie Phillips in the
trenches at Coal Creek's Militia Hill

Cassie Phillips, Phillip Smith and Jennifer Phillips
on a visit to Lincoln Memorial University

Cassie Phillips and Phillip Smith are each receiving $10,000 Rev. Roy Daugherty Memorial Scholarships, named to honor one of our founding board members who is gone, but not forgotten.  Cassie and Phillip have each taken leadership roles on watershed restoration, clean-up, and history research projects. 

In her essay on improving the quality of life in the watershed, Cassie says, “Children should be taught at an early age that growing up in a small town is a blessing because you have a loving community backing you wherever you go.”  Cassie also observes that living in a community where everyone knows your name carries obligations.  “How dare they call themselves community members if they will not even take the time to clean up trash right in front of their own homes?”  Cassie plans to major in Education and French beginning at Roane State and then transfer to Carson Newman College.

Cassie also received the Charles Wormsley Memorial scholarship given by the Crystal Lodge, the Retired Teachers Association scholarship, a Carson Newman College scholarship, and the TN lottery scholarship at the Anderson County HIgh School awards ceremony.  She is a graduate of Distinction.

Phillip Smith is no stranger to hard work.  From his experience as a full-time volunteer during the archaeological dig at Fort Anderson on Militia Hill, he observes, “It was a chance for me to experience the conditions the militia faced when they were stationed there.”  Phillip will start his college education at Roane State Community College and then study chemical engineering at the University of Tennessee. 

Phillip Smith (R) with volunteer Buzz Buffington
working on one of the Coal Creek
bank stabilization projects

Krystina Long at one of the
Coal Creek Spring Cleaning Days

Krystina Long will receive a $2,000 CCWF scholarship.  She will study film and cinematography at Pellissippi State Technical Community College and then Middle Tennessee State University.

The Nantglo and Rev. Roy Daugherty Memorial Scholarships are offered to graduates of Briceville Elementary School to assist them in attending college.  Requirements to earn the scholarships include participating in community service projects, competing in an essay contest on improving the quality of life in the watershed, and being a mentor to current Briceville students.

Krystina also received the President's Education Award, and the TN Lottery scholarship at the Anderson County High School award ceremony.  She is a graduate of Distinction.

CCWF's goal is to give Briceville students the incentive to excel in middle school and high school, knowing they have the potential to get a college education.  Since 2002, twenty-two students from Briceville have received CCWF scholarships as described at http://www.coalcreekaml.com/ScholarsProgramPage.htm.

The 2009 CCWF scholarships will be presented at an awards ceremony on Saturday, 16 May 2009 at 4:00 pm at Anderson County High School.

Cassie and Jennifer Phillips are the twin daughters of Denny and Charlotte Phillips of Briceville.

Phillip Smith is the son of Danny & Tina Smith of Fraterville.

Krystina Long is the daughter of Chris Long of Briceville.

Click on image to view more
photos of scholarship winners
at a Coal Creek
Spring Cleaning Day

Coal Creek
Scholars Program Page

Cassie Phillips

Phillip Smith

[Master Plan] [Map] [Photo Gallery]
[Bank Stabilization Projects]
[Deadwood Removal Days] [Discovery Day 2000] [Scrape, Paint & Clean Day 2000
[Historic Fraterville Mine Disaster Field Trip 2001] [Fraterville Mine Disaster 100th Anniversary]
[Coal Creek War and Mining Disasters] [Mine Reclamation Lessons]
[CMD] [Economic Benefits] [Motor Discovery Trail] [Historic Cemeteries]
[Partners] [Schools in Watershed] [Mark the Trail Day]
[Awards] [Coal Creek Health Days]
[Briceville School History Field Trips] [Ghost Stories]
[Trout Stuff] [Join Us] [Eastern Coal Region Roundtable]
[Articles in the News] [Dream Contest]

Copyright© Coal Creek Watershed Foundation, Inc. 2000 through 2021