Coal Creek Scholarships 2012

$25,000 awarded to three students

A total of 32 awards to date

We are happy to announce that three Coal Creek students will be receiving scholarships totaling $25,000.  To qualify for our scholarships, these former students of Briceville Elementary School have participated in our community service projects and completed essays on improving the quality of life in the watershed.

(L to R) Barry Thacker on stage
with winners Samantha Randolph,
Ryan Vandergriff & Seth Taylor

Seth with parents Sue & Roger Taylor

Seth Taylor will receive our $10,000 Nantglo Scholarship.  Nantglo is Welsh for Coal Creek and this scholarship recognizes the contributions of the Welsh miners who helped East Tennessee rebuild after the Civil War. 

Seth plans to become a Registered Nurse and will be studying at Carson Newman College.  He stated in his essay, "Furthering my education and working toward my career goals is the most effective way to give back to the community that helped shape the person I am today."

Samantha Randolph and Ryan Vandergriff will each receive Rev. Roy Daugherty Memorial Scholarships for $7,500.    Rev. Roy Daugherty was a founding board member of CCWF who passed away in 2006.

Samantha plans to attend Carson-Newman College with a double major in English and Political Science.

In her essay, Samantha stated, "If Briceville students choose not to attend college, it is their own decision. They can receive a good scholarship and continuing encouragement from the Coal Creek Watershed Foundation."

Samantha Randolph will graduate with a degree in English from Carson Newman College in December and has been accepted into the Master of Publishing program at Rosement College in Pennsylvania. 

Samantha with proud mom Reba

Ryan Vandergriff assists
Barry Thacker with installation
of historic markers on Militia Hill.


CCWF's goal is to give Briceville students the incentive to excel in middle school and high school, knowing they have the potential to get a college education.  Since 2002, thirty-two students from Briceville have received CCWF scholarships as described at

The 2012 CCWF scholarships were presented at the Anderson County High School awards ceremony on May 12, 2012.

This year's winners shown in previous
work day photo on Militia Hill.

Seth Taylor back row far left,
Ryan Vandergriff back row second from right,
Samantha Randolph front row second from right.

2012 AWARDS:

$10,000   Seth Taylor

$ 7,500   Samantha Randolph
$ 7,500   Ryan Vandergriff


Coal Creek
Scholars Page including
all previous awards

(L to R) Ryan Vandergriff,
Samantha Randolph, Seth Taylor
& Carol Moore

[Master Plan] [Map] [Photo Gallery]
[Bank Stabilization Projects]
[Deadwood Removal Days] [Discovery Day 2000] [Scrape, Paint & Clean Day 2000
[Historic Fraterville Mine Disaster Field Trip 2001] [Fraterville Mine Disaster 100th Anniversary]
[Coal Creek War and Mining Disasters] [Mine Reclamation Lessons]
[CMD] [Economic Benefits] [Motor Discovery Trail] [Historic Cemeteries]
[Partners] [Schools in Watershed] [Mark the Trail Day]
[Awards] [Coal Creek Health Days]
[Briceville School History Field Trips] [Ghost Stories]
[Trout Stuff] [Join Us] [Eastern Coal Region Roundtable]
[Articles in the News] [Dream Contest]

Copyrightę Coal Creek Watershed Foundation, Inc. 2000 through 2021